Beautiful Hectic Life

Non-native speakers raising a bilingual child, aiming to live slow

When we found out we were pregnant, we knew we had to try to raise our child bilingually in English and Spanish. I quickly realized that this meant that I had to become a full-time English speaker by choice.

Living in Mexico, my whole life happens in Spanish, and my business is also about Spanish learning. So while I am pretty comfortable with my English level, I rarely have the occasion to use it consistently. However, as a Spanish teacher, I’ve seen first hand that even when there are no natural opportunities to practice a language, you can just as well create them yourself.

Raising a child in your non-native language is not the only reason why people choose to change their main language. Moving abroad for work or pleasure, or maybe starting a relationship with someone who speaks a different language could be some examples. Whatever the reason for voluntarily choosing this lifestyle,I believe preparing for it is crucial.

Here are some of the things I am currently doing to switch from Spanish to English as my main language:

  1. Creating an environment that encourages me to think in English

Even when my natural environment does not provide opportunities to use or hear English, I actively fill my days with the language. I choose an English Netflix series over a Spanish one. If I want to learn about something, I choose to do so in English (podcasts, books, google searches). I write any notes, reminders and even grocery lists in English. This is why I am also doing a YouTube channel and writing this blog in my non-native language.

Doing this enables me to think in my target language and makes it more likely for me to speak in English because it is the language that I am engaging with the most.

2. Pushing through the uncomfortable parts

When you have spent most of your life speaking Spanish and you’ve been communicating with your family members and friends in that language, it is only natural to feel uncomfortable, self-conscious and awkward switching to English. However, I constantly remind myself of why I am doing this and it helps me stay focused on what really matters.

In my case, I started talking to my husband in English at least once a day. It was weird and I didn’t really feel like myself, but I kept at it. After a couple of days, it became more natural and I spoke in English more and more. Now it feels almost normal for us to have a conversation completely in English multiple times a day.
I also started talking to my baby in English, but I have to say that I had to start slow  —just a few words here and there and mainly when I was alone. I am still working in my confidence because being the first time I am pregnant, it is weird enough to talk to my belly, but it is also culturally shocking for people in my country to speak in English while out and about when you don’t look like the average English speaker.

3. Building a village

One of our core values as a family and entrepreneurs is community. Being surrounded by like-minded people or simply by those who support your crazy ideas is more powerful than most people realize.

Nowadays, finding support groups online is quite easy, so even if you don’t have close friends or family who are on the same journey as you, remember that someone out there, even across the world is. Not only have I joined several bilingual parenting groups on Facebook, I am also actively talking about my goal with people and friends. You’d be surprised by the amount of people who are either doing something similar, know someone who is or just plainly wishes us success. You never know who you’re going to find along the way.

4. Anticipating my shortcomings but staying positive

You never stop learning a language. That could be frustrating or incredibly encouraging. I can choose to worry about the things I haven’t mastered or I can see this as an opportunity to get a little bit better every day.

I like to think about my language abilities and be honest about my shortcomings so that I can find ways to improve. In my case some vowel combinations and some words are hard to pronounce. If we’re having a conversation, you will understand what I am trying to say, but it might still be obvious that I mispronounced a word. I am thinking about the short I sound as in the words sit and fit, or words as reiterate, focus or Worcestershire (but honestly, who can say that word correctly?).

So what do I do once I have pinpointed my biggest issue? I can talk to native speakers and ask them to correct me (language exchange partners, tutors, teachers, friends). I can also practice shadowing. If you’re unfamiliar with this technique, it involves watching a native speaker talk and repeating after them trying your best to mimic their pronunciation and intonation. We can talk about this more on a future post.

5. Keeping in mind what’s at stake and what’s in it for me

Why are you doing this? What would you miss out on if you didn’t continue? What will you gain from this experience? Those are the questions I like to ask myself whenever I get too self-conscious, afraid or discouraged.
I am doing this because bilingualism has given me so many great things and I want my child to have the same opportunity. If I don’t do this, I will have to rely on the school system to teach him English and I know first hand that it isn’t enough. I will also deeply regret not doing this. I will surely gain new experiences, new friendships, and a deep sense of accomplishment, not to mention everything my child will gain throughout his life.

So what are your reasons? If you’re on a similar path as me and have any other tips to share, I’m all ears.


2 responses to “The choice of bilingualism.”

  1. Jason Avatar
    Jason

    Hi Anna,

    This is great. As you know, I am speaking Spanish to my daughter. I have implemented quite a few things to help me as well think in Spanish more, listening to the news, listening to podcasts, reading, and finding more friends to speak Spanish with.

    I like a lot of your ideas and will start to implement them as well.

    Good luck in the journey!

    Like

    1. Ana F. Avatar

      Those are great ideas too! Thanks

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started